Please call us at 800 783 1241 if we can help you locate or custom create something. 


Our Locations


874 Walker Road
Suite C
Dover, DE 19904

Contact Hours (Eastern)
Mon 8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Tue 8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Wed 8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Thu 8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Fri 8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Sat 8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Sun 8:00 AM - 11:00 PM

Details Email

The 4Cs of Diamonds

Buying a diamond is a very personal experience. Diamonds can be bought to signify love, significant accomplishments, milestones in your life or that of a gift's recipient. Unlike when you buy clothing, electronics, or cars, the features of a diamond may not seem quite so obvious to you. We would like to change that. The more you know about your diamond jewelry, the more confident you will feel when making your diamond jewelry choices. Take a moment to learn more about the 4Cs and find out how they play an important role in making your diamond jewelry unique.



The Cut is a very important characteristic as it affects the light performance within the diamond and converts a rough stone into a beautiful sparkling gem, in turn determining its brilliance or sparkle. Before a diamond is cut, the location of inclusions and flaws, the natural coloration, and the original shape of the rough stone are studied extensively. The facets are then mapped out and cut in a way that maximizes size, shape, and clarity and each shape will be cut according to these specifications. For optimal light performance, you will want a diamond that is cut neither too shallow nor too deep.

Diamond Cuts


The Gemological Institute of America (GIA) has formulated a system of guidelines to grade diamond Color, which refers to the presence or absence of Color within a diamond. The scale runs from D (colorless) to Z (light yellow). This however only applies to white diamonds and not “fancy colored” diamonds, which occur naturally in a wide variety of colors and have a different grading system. Colorless diamonds are rarer and thus more valuable.

Diamond Color Scale


A diamond is distinguished by its natural characteristics, they are formed from pure carbon atoms and often contain flaws or impurities within. Notated as a diamond's Clarity, these characteristics can be present on the surface (blemishes) or within the stone (inclusions). Clarity refers to the presence or absence of these impurities and the fewer and smaller these inclusions, the better the Clarity of the diamond. The scale runs from Fl, defined as flawless, to I3, defined as inclusions visible with the naked eye. Flawless diamonds are very rare and thus more valuable.


FL Diamonds
Flawless: No internal or external flaws.

IF Diamonds
Internally Flawless: No internal flaws.

VVS1, VVS2 Diamonds
Very, Very Slightly included: Very difficult to see inclusions with 10x magnification.

VS1, VS2 Diamonds
Very Slightly Included: Inclusions are visible under 10x magnification to a skilled grader.

SI1, SI2 Diamonds
Slightly Included: Inclusions are visible under 10x magnification and may be visible with the unaided eye.

I1, I2, I3 Diamonds
Included: Inclusions are visible with the unaided eye.

Carat Weight

The unit of measure used for the weight of a diamond is the "Carat". As a matter of reference, a Carat is equivalent to 0.2 grams or .007 of an ounce. A Carat is also made of 100 decimal points so a 1/4 (0.25) Carat stone can also be expressed as 25 points and mean exactly the same thing. When comparing two diamonds, please note that just because one is twice the Carat weight of the other does not mean that it will appear to be twice the size, but the price will however increase exponentially, meaning that a 2 Carat stone will be more expensive than 2 stones of 1 Carat each.